What is the Gray Cup?

The gray cup refers to the Canadian Football League (CFL) league game, and can also refer to the trophy awarded to the winning team in sport. Sport is a competition between the emerging winners of the CFL of the East Division and the West Division. The game is the largest annual television sports event and the largest in Canada. The team that won the biggest cup is the Argonauts of Toronto, after winning 17 from 1909. 26th of November, 2017 was the last and the 105th Gray Cup, held in Ottawa, Ontario. Toronto Argonauts emerged as winners beat Calgary Stampeders 27 out of 24. The Gray Cup is managed and controlled by the Canadian board of trustees Hall of Fame, which acts as a trustee. Governor Earls Gray sold it to the Canadian Football League in 1909.


The first cup of the Canadian hockey armament teams was the Stanley Cup, which was in use from 1893 to 1909 until Governor Earl donated the Gray Cup, first used in December, 4th 1909 when the team of ‘University of Toronto won the finals. Since its inception in 1909, the cup has had two periods in which there were no races. The first is 1916 to 1918 when Canada participated in the First World War and the second was in 1919 when the rugby union and disagreements on the rules of football did not arouse interest from Western Union and the Canadian Rugby Union. Games resumed in 1920. During World War II in 1942, trade unions suspended their activities,

US expansion

Sacramento Gold Miners, a US franchise, was admitted to the Canadian championship in 1993, and their success was average. This led to the addition of Shreveport Pirates, Las Vegas Pose and Baltimore Stallions in the 1994 championship. The inconsistency in the performance of American teams and the financial crisis that followed the formation of the National Football League (NFL) in Baltimore Ravens led to the abandonment of American expansion. In 1996, the Canadian Football League was reorganized after American teams were cut. It started with nine teams and players from American teams that were redistributed among Canadian teams. The NFL granted an interest-free loan of $ 3 million to the CFL,

Mark Cohon Era

This era of the Canadian league went from 2007 to 2015 while Mark Cohon was a commissioner of the Canadian Football League. During this period, there was the financial stability of the CFL, the expansion and modernization of the stadiums, the celebration of the 100th anniversary of the gray cup and the new television offers. A new five-year collective agreement between CFL and CLFPA was negotiated by Mark in 2014 before leaving office.

Jeffry Orridge Era

This era worked for two years between 2015 and 2017 with Jeffry as commissioner. The CFL logo and motto have also been changed. The nine teams changed both websites and uniforms during this period. A new drug policy was agreed by the CFL and the CLFPA was introduced in this era. Jeffrey left the NFL in June 15, 2017 and a new commissioner; Randy Ambrosie took over on June 29, 2017.


The Canadian Football League has nine active teams, four in the East Division and five in the West Division. The East Division is made up of the Toronto Argonauts who use the BMO field stadium in Toronto, Ontario; the Ottawa Redblacks who are tenants of the TD Place Stadium in Ottawa, Ontario; the Montreal Alouettes who are tenants of the Percival Molson Memorial Stadium in Montreal, Quebec; and the Hamilton Tiger-Cats who are tenants of the Tim Hortons Field Stadium in Hamilton, Ontario. The teams in the West Division are the BC Lions, the Saskatchewan Roughriders, the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, the Edmonton Eskimos and the Calgary Stampeders.

Leave a Comment