What are the seven seals of the apocalypse?

he seven seals of the apocalypse are a prophecy about events that will happen in recent times. Each stamp represents a part of the events at the end of the world.

In the vision of Revelation 5: 1 , John saw a book (a large scroll rolled up) in the hand of God. The book was sealed with seven seals, which no one could break. In the past, stamps were used to protect documents. Nobody could read the document without breaking the seal. Since no one could break the stamps, no one could read the book.

Only the Lamb (Jesus) was able to break the seals and read the book. As each seal opened, important things happened on earth and in Heaven:

1st seal

When the Lamb opened the 1st seal, a being in the presence of God said “come” and a rider appeared on a white horse. He had a bow and a crown and went out to win ( Revelation 6: 1-2 ).

2nd seal

Another being in the presence of God said “come” and a red horse appeared. His knight had a sword and caused fights between people ( Revelation 6: 3-4 ).

3rd seal

The third being said “come” and a black horse appeared. The knight held a scale and a voice declared the high price of food at that time ( Revelation 6: 5-6 ).

4th seal

The fourth being said “come” and Death came on a yellow horse, followed by Hades. They killed a quarter of the earth’s population in various ways ( Revelation 6: 7-8 ).

See here more about the four horsemen of the apocalypse.

5th seal

When the 5th seal was opened, John saw the souls of people killed because of the gospel, which were under the altar. The altar was the place in the temple where the blood of sacrifices was shed. These people had sacrificed their lives for the love of God.

The martyrs asked God when He would do justice. Each received a white robe and were told to wait a little longer, because there were still a few more Christians who were going to be killed for their faith ( Revelation 6: 10-11 ).

6th seal

A major earthquake shook the land when the 6th seal was opened. The sun darkened, the moon turned red, stars fell from the sky and mountains and islands moved. In the midst of this confusion, everyone on earth hid under the earth. They screamed for death, because the devastation was terrible ( Revelation 6: 15-16 ).

Between the 6th and 7th seals there is a vision of people faithful to God being sealed, for their protection. The seal of God on their foreheads showed that they belonged to God, had His protection.

See also: who are the 144 thousand sealed?

7th seal

When the lamb opened the 7th seal, for half an hour there was silence in heaven. Seven angels received trumpets and another angel placed a censer with the prayers of the saints next to the altar. The angel filled the censer with fire from the altar and threw it on the earth. There was another earthquake, thunder, lightning and voices ( Revelation 8: 3-5 ).

The seven seals show God’s judgment on the earth. God will punish humanity for their sins but He will reward those who remain faithful to Him. The events of the seven seals are frightening but there is hope for the believer.


by Abdullah Sam
I’m a teacher, researcher and writer. I write about study subjects to improve the learning of college and university students. I write top Quality study notes Mostly, Tech, Games, Education, And Solutions/Tips and Tricks. I am a person who helps students to acquire knowledge, competence or virtue.

Leave a Comment