Who are the members of NATO?

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) is an alliance of European and North American countries 28 and was established with the signing of the North Atlantic Treaty on 4 April 1949. Two Member States (Canada and the United States) are in North America, 25 in Europe and one (Turkey in Eurasia.) All countries, except Iceland, have armed forces, while three countries (France, United Kingdom, United States) are nuclear powers. There were original founding members 12: in 1955 NATO had its first enlargement, with the addition of Greece and Turkey to the alliance, there were six enlargements in total, with the last in progress in 2009. protection mutual assistance for member states in the event of attacks. Formed in 1949 in the early years of the Cold War, it was initially directed to the Communist Soviet Union.

Who are the member states of NATO?

NATO was originally founded on 4 April 1949 by the 12 nations. These were Belgium, the Netherlands, Canada, Denmark, Iceland, Italy, France, Luxembourg, Portugal, the United Kingdom and the United States. On 18 February 1952, the organization had its first enlargement, with the accession of Greece and Turkey. The second enlargement was on 6 May 1955, when West Germany joined. The third expansion took place on 30 May 1982, with the participation of Spain. The fourth enlargement on 12 May 1999 added the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland to the organization. The fifth enlargement took place on 29 March 2004, which was joined by Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia. The last enlargement was the sixth that took place on 1 April 2009,

Military personnel of the Member States and military expenditure

Member states are expected to provide military personnel for NATO activities when called upon to do so. Among the member states, the United States has the largest military personnel of 2,220,412. It is followed by Turkey at 1,041,900; Poland at 635,000; Greece at 389.070; and the United Kingdom on 387.571. The top five contributors of military personnel in NATO, those with the largest number of deployable military personnel, according to 2013 figures are the United States of 1,370,000; Turkey at 494,000; France at 213,000; Italy at 186,000; and Germany to 184,000. As for military spending, the main NATO countries, according to 2014 figures, are the United States at 609,914,000, which is 3.5% of its GDP, France at 62,289,000, which is 2.2% of its GDP. The United Kingdom also spends 60,482,000, which is 2. 2% of its GDP and Germany at 46.45.000, which is 1.2% of its GDP; and Italy at 30,909,000, which is 1.5% of its GDP.

NATO agreements between NATO countries: the North Atlantic Treaty

Agreements between members of the North Atlantic Treaty include article 1 which states that member states must peacefully resolve international disputes, maintaining international security and justice. Article 5 also states that whenever an armed attack occurs against a member country, the other members consider it an attack on the collective and assist the attacked member, with the armed forces whenever necessary. Article 6 also states that the treaty only covers the territories of member nations in North America, Europe and islands in the northern North Atlantic of the Tropic of Cancer, in addition to French Algeria, a condition that excluded the US state of Hawaii.

The Soviet Union is no longer a threat after its collapse, NATO is no longer as relevant as it once was. However, it has symbolic significance and countries like Ukraine and Georgia are pushing for admission into the organization for the connection it provides to the United States, Canada and EU member states.

NATO countries

Date of accession State Enlargement
4 April 1949 Belgium Founders
4 April 1949 Canada Founders
4 April 1949 Denmark Founders
4 April 1949 France Founders
4 April 1949 Iceland Founders
4 April 1949 Italy Founders
4 April 1949 Luxembourg Founders
4 April 1949 Holland Founders
4 April 1949 Norway Founders
4 April 1949 Portugal Founders
4 April 1949 UK Founders
4 April 1949 United States Founders
18 February 1952 Greece First
18 February 1952 Turkey First
May 6, 1955 Germany Second
May 30, 1982 Spain Third
12 March 1999 Czech Republic Fourth
12 March 1999 Hungary Fourth
12 March 1999 Poland Fourth
29 March 2004 Bulgaria Fifth
29 March 2004 Estonia Fifth
29 March 2004 Latvia Fifth
29 March 2004 Lithuania Fifth
29 March 2004 Romania Fifth
29 March 2004 Slovakia Fifth
29 March 2004 slovenia Fifth
April 1, 2009 Albania Sixth
April 1, 2009 Croatia Sixth


Leave a Comment