What is Icao?

The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) is a special institution whose parent organization is the United Nations, which ensures a well-organized planning and development of the international air transport system. The association has 192 member states whose welfare, growth and sustainability are monitored by the ICAO.

ICAO history

ICAO was established in April 4, 1947, and in October of the same year it became a dedicated organization as part of the United Nations. Initially, the body was named the Convention on International Civil Aviation, which had member states 52. It was formed in December 1944 and served from June 6, 1945, to April 4, 1947, after which the ‘ICAO. ICAO was originally created to promote the safety and efficiency of air transport. Over the years, the main objective has been slightly modified to help Member States improve aviation in their countries through projects implemented by the ICAO program.

How the ICAO works

Since 1944, the entire ICAO operation is the guide to global civil aviation. The terms and conditions of the agreement stipulate that the agency should have a structure composed of an assembly and a restricted registration council with several subordinated groups, with the secretariat at the bottom. The chief executives are the president and the general secretary.

ICAO structure

The assembly is composed of legislators from all member states signed. The assembly is the highest most significant body of the ICAO organization. It meets every three years to thoroughly evaluate the organization’s efforts and also to establish new regulations for the coming years until the next meeting. During these meetings, the assembly also has a budget.

The board is the central ICAO leadership body. During assembly meetings that take place every year, members also vote for board members. The vote puts in office the 36 representatives chosen by 36 in different member states. The votes in the member states in three categories, namely states with great prominence or importance in air transport, state that they make the greatest contribution in terms of air navigation service provision, and states whose inclusion guarantees important geographical parts of the world are part of the council. As the governing body, the council provides the assembly with annual reports, draws up the guidelines of the assembly and acts as an arbitrator between the member states, among other duties.

The head of the secretariat is the general secretary and is divided into five categories: the air navigation office, the technical cooperation office, the air transport office, the legal office and the management and services office. Other organizations involved in ICAO management include the World Meteorological Organization and the World Health Organization. Several non-governmental organizations also participate in ICAO work, including the International Council Council, the International Coordinating Council of Aerospace Industries Association and the International Federation of Air Traffic Controllers Association.

Leave a Comment