What is a Emirate?

An emirate is a territory or a state under the jurisdiction of an emir. An emirate is the dignity, office, quality or territorial competence of an emir. An emirate is also used to describe any province of a state administered by a member of the ruling class, especially of royal descent as in Saudi Arabia.

Who is an emir?

An emir is the head of state of an emirate. The emir could be a king, prince, commander or governor.

List of the Emirates

  1. The United Arab Emirates

The United Arab Emirates is a nation of seven emirates. It has a coast on Oman and the Persian Gulf. The following Emirates constitute the United Arab Emirates:

  • Umm al-Quwain.
  • Ajman.
  • Dubai.
  • Ras Al Khaimah.
  • Abu Dhabi.
  • Fujairah.
  • Sharjah.

The Emirates became a federation in December 2, 1971. Each emirate has an emir and maintains autonomy, even beyond oil revenues. The king of Abu Dhabi is elected president while Dubai provides the prime minister. These places are therefore effectively hereditary.

  1. Kuwait

Kuwait is located in western Asia at the tip of the Persian Gulf. Kuwait is bordered by both Saudi Arabia and Iraq. It houses a high-income economy and has the sixth largest oil reserve in the world. Indeed, the Kuwait dinar is the most valued currency today. The World Bank estimates that Kuwait has the fourth highest per capita income in the world ($ 68.940).

Kuwait is a constitutional emirate. It has a semi-democratic political system in which the sheikh or emir oversees state functions. Kuwait has a hybrid political system divided between the designated government and the elected parliament. With this form of governance, Kuwait has the most transparent and responsible government in the GCC countries (Gulf Cooperation Council). Kuwait is also the most democratic country in the region with regard to political rights and civil liberties.

The legislative body is composed of the National Assembly where the government executes executive power. The prime minister is appointed by the Emir and, in turn, appoints the ministers that make up the government.

  1. Qatar

Qatar is a sovereign country bordered by Saudi Arabia and the Arabian Gulf. Qatar is an absolute or constitutional monarchy. The Al Thani family has been in power since its founding in 1825. In 2003, 98% Qatari voted for a new constitution that allowed the direct appointment of three quarters (30) of the legislative chamber (members 40). Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani is the current Emir.

The supreme executive authority is composed of the supreme chancellor who appoints (or withdraws) the prime minister and government ministers. The Council of Ministers is the legislature. Majlis Al Shura (Advisory Council) proposes laws and decrees, and the Emir ratifies them. The Consultative Assembly has limited authority to draft and approve laws, but the final decision ultimately rests with the Emir. Currently, all members of the council are appointed directly by the Emir, since Qatar has not had legislative elections since 1970. The law of Qatar prohibits any political body or union. Sharia law is applicable in the country. However, the world sees the legal system of Qatar as a mixture of Sharia and civil laws.

Leave a Comment