Remove everything or keep files when resetting Windows 11?

If you’re trying to reset your Windows 11 computer , you’ve probably encountered a dilemma. Should you remove everything or keep your files? Which is the best option in each case? In the following sections, I’ll explain the steps you need to follow to format your computer and what settings you should choose throughout the process to avoid losing a single file.

Also, at the end of this guide, I’ll give you my personal opinion on this matter. I’ll tell you why I believe that, when restoring a PC to its factory settings , it’s best to leave no trace of any of the files on the computer. Don’t miss it!

How to reset a Windows 11 PC and what options should you choose?

To clear up any confusion, rather than giving you a direct answer, I invite you to walk through the steps you need to take to reset your Windows 11 PC with me. This way, it’ll be easier for me to explain what each of the options on the screen entails
and what their respective purposes are.

After analyzing this procedure, I’ll tell you my opinion on whether it’s better to remove everything or keep the files.

Locate the corresponding section in the Settings app

To reset Windows 11, go to Settings. A quick way to access the settings panel is with the keyboard shortcut Windows + I.

These are the steps you need to take to get to the Reset your computer option in Windows 11

Once there, open the System > Recovery section . In this section, all you have to do is press the Reset computer button .

Decide whether you’re going to remove everything or keep the files.

Okay, right after you press the reset button, you’ll see the first big decision appear. In the pop-up wizard, with a blue background, you’ll see two options: Remove everything or Keep my files .

This is an important decision. For me, Remove Everything is the most convenient option (if you’ve made a backup).

What does each of them do?

  • Keep my files . This feature allows you to reinstall Windows 11 to try to fix a problem, but without deleting your personal files . It’s important to note that it only applies to files in the Documents, Pictures, and other similar folders. In reality, your Windows apps and settings will be deleted, along with much of your personal information.
  • Remove everything . This performs a deeper reinstallation, deleting all files on the computer. I’ll explain why I think this later, but I think this is the correct option.

Decide whether or not to download Windows from the cloud

After you decide what to do with your personal information, Windows will ask you what type of installation you want to perform .

Windows can download the latest updated image from the cloud to install the latest version

The options are these:

  • Cloud Download . This allows you to download the latest version of Windows from Microsoft servers and use it to reinstall your system. This is a recommended option, but it takes longer because it involves an additional download.
  • Local reinstallation . If you’ve updated your system, this can be a great option. It uses local Windows files and the current version on your computer to restore it.

Complete the restore process and set up Windows 11 from scratch

Once you’ve chosen each of these options, simply click Next to begin the process. It’s best to let your computer run from now on and wait patiently until the Windows 11 initial setup screen appears . At that point, the system will have been reset, and you’ll be able to start from scratch.

What I think as a computer scientist: the best thing is to remove everything

In my opinion, the Remove Everything option is the most convenient. Why? First, if you decide to keep your files , you might be complacent and not back up the information you store on your computer.

With the above in mind, it’s always a good idea to back up your data before resetting Windows 11. Note! You don’t need an external hard drive. You can actually keep your files safe with some of the best cloud storage services .

On the other hand, if you choose the Keep your files option (and haven’t made a backup), errors may occur during the reset process. If that happens, recovering your information will be much more difficult. Windows 11 may even delete important data you didn’t even remember, or that was associated with a specific app.

Ultimately, as a computer scientist, I always recommend dividing the procedure for resetting a PC into two phases:

  • Create a backup of ALL files.
  • Delete all content from your computer for the cleanest installation possible.

If you are going to sell or give away your PC, removing everything is the solution.

Finally, remember that the “ Remove all” option is the most convenient when you intend to give the computer to someone else or sell it on the second-hand market, thanks to applications like Wallapop .

Only in this way will you ensure that the new owner will be able to see your personal information and access sensitive data. Regardless, in most cases, opting to delete all data , always after making a backup, is the best decision.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top