Quran Division – What is the Meaning?

Sections, Chapters, Verses and Composition

Reciting the Qur’an is a daily duty for every Muslim, whether together or alone, every believing man, woman, child, must read, learn and share the Book of Allah.

For those who wish to complete their recitation or reading of the Qur’an within a certain time frame, they are most pleased to find the Qur’an, as it is separated into thirty (30) parts called “Juz-un” in Arabic or “Para ”In Persian. It is also divided into seven (7) equal parts. If someone reads a Juz-un a day, in thirty days he will have completed the entire Qur’an, that is, it would only take one month.

The seventh part of the Qur’an is called “Manzil”, which if it is read entirely in the course of a day, the recitation of the entire Qur’an will be complete in just one week.

Ordinarily, the quarters of each Sipara (¼, ½, ¾) are also marked in Arabic as Ar-rub ‘, An-nisf and Ath-thalata.

The divisions, according to the subject, are quite different. The Koran consists of 114 Surahs (chapters) of varying sizes. Surahs (chapters) are numbered and consecutive numbers are displayed just before the title of each Surah. Each Surah is composed of Ayahs (verses) and there are a total of 6,327 Ayats in the Qur’an in its entirety.

The Surah (or chapter) Baqarah has 286 Ayats and this makes it the longest chapter in the Qur’an.

It is better to keep the words “Surah”, “Ayah” and “Quran” in Arabic, rather than trying to translate them into English words. This is better because they are technical terms used in the literature of the Muslim religion.

Ayat (verse) is usually determined by the rhythm and cadence in the Arabic text. Sometimes an Ayah contains more than one sentence, and can even have multiple sentences within Ayah.

A sentence can also be divided by a break in Ayah and you would have to read the next Ayah to complete the subject, or topic. However, there is usually an intention in these cases, a pause towards the end of Ayah.

There are also logical divisions of the Surahs within the sections to indicate divisions according to the meanings.

There is a word for these sections in Arabic, called “Ruku” and it means to bow your head to the ground in respect to Allah, the Almighty, in prayer.


by Abdullah Sam
I’m a teacher, researcher and writer. I write about study subjects to improve the learning of college and university students. I write top Quality study notes Mostly, Tech, Games, Education, And Solutions/Tips and Tricks. I am a person who helps students to acquire knowledge, competence or virtue.

Leave a Comment