How to restrict your Facebook profile

Protecting our privacy on social media is extremely important these days , as anyone can access private data if we don’t configure our profiles properly . Facebook, one of the most popular social platforms, offers various tools that allow us to control who sees our information. One of these tools is related to profile protection, as the Restrict Profile feature prevents curious users from easily accessing important data .

If you’ve come across Facebook profiles that say “Restricted Profile” under the user name , you’ve probably noticed that you can’t perform basic actions like: increasing the size of your photo , viewing your friends list, or viewing public posts and stories .

Unlike other privacy tools , this one specifically protects the entire profile , a feature that substantially improves the privacy of Facebook accounts where it’s activated. If you’re interested in activating it, and also in learning exactly what this option does, we recommend continuing to read the article.

How to restrict Facebook profile?

While this security feature is extremely easy to activate , it’s somewhat hidden, so accessing it can be extremely tedious. To save you time searching for it, we’ll explain in just a few steps how to activate it from your mobile device :

You can restrict your Facebook profile from your mobile or computer

  • First you’ll need to click on the three horizontal lines located in the upper right corner.
  • You’ll access the Facebook shortcuts menu. There, click “Settings and Privacy.”
  • A list with several options will appear, you will have to access the one that says “Settings”.

Facebook allows you to activate and deactivate this security feature as many times as you need.

  • You’ll need to scroll down to the section called “Audience and Visibility.” Within that section, you’ll need to click on “Profile Restrictions.”
  • Therefore, you will need to click on the blue button that says “Restrict your profile.”
  • Within seconds, Facebook will inform you that your profile has been restricted .

It’s worth mentioning that this procedure can also be performed from a computer . The steps from a PC (via the web version of Facebook) are very similar to those shown here.

What does restricting your Facebook profile do?

This extra security feature will allow you to prevent strangers from capturing the screen of your Facebook profile.

Restricting your Facebook profile is like putting a lock on your personal information . By activating this security feature, you’ll automatically limit who can see your posts, photos, and other information. Also, only your friends will be able to access your content in full , as your profile will be less visible to everyone else.

It’s a simple and effective way to control who can see your information . This feature will allow you to enjoy greater privacy and provide an extra layer of security to protect your personal data.

When you restrict your Facebook profile, the platform will automatically apply a restriction to your profile . This restriction will give you these security options:

  • Greater privacy : Your information will only be visible to your friends.
  • Prevent strangers from seeing your posts : All your posts, images, videos, and friends list will not be accessible to people who view your profile (those who are not your friends).
  • Protect your personal information : You can prevent strangers from accessing sensitive data in your profile.

In short, if someone who isn’t your friend tries to view your Facebook profile, they’ll only be able to see your profile picture (but not in full size), your first name (they won’t be able to see your last name), and any posts you’ve marked as public before you restricted your profile.

Remember that you can undo the restriction at any time . Just follow the same steps we showed you in the tutorial, and finally, select the “Undo Restriction” option . Facebook will remove this protection immediately.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top