Biodiversity and Classification of Living Things

Friends of the science portal this time we will learn about natural science. One of them is biology. The material being studied discusses biodiversity . What do you know about biodiversity?

Biodiversity can be explained as a diversity of living things in a variety of types, genes, and ecosystems in an environment. This biodiversity has several types.

Types of biodiversity are genetic level diversity, species level diversity, and finally, ecosystem level diversity. The explanation of each diversity is as follows.

  1. Ecosystem level diversity. Ecosystem level diversity can be explained as diversity that occurs as a result of the interaction between the creatures that make up an area with its environment. An example of ecosystem level diversity is a meadow ecosystem with a tropical rain forest.
  2. Gene level diversity. Gene level diversity can be explained as diversity that occurs as a result of genetic variation within a species. An example of gene level diversity is the color diversity of the flower crown in a rose plant. Where the color of rose plants, among others, rose plants are red, yellow, pink, and white.
  3. Diversity in species or species level. The diversity in the level of species or species can be explained as a diversity of forms and the appearance of species owned by one species to another in an environment. Examples of species or species diversity are the appearance of cempedak fruit or Artocarpus cempedens and jackfruit or Artocarpus heterophylus which are a family.

Biodiversity also needs to be preserved. Preservation of biodiversity in the country of Indonesia can be classified into two, namely as follows.

  1. Preservation of ex situ. Ex situ conservation is a conservation effort carried out by moving living things from their natural habitat. Examples of ex situ conservation are botanical gardens, safari parks, and zoos.
  2. Preservation in situ. In situ preservation is an effort to preserve living things that are carried out in their natural habitat. Examples of in situ conservation include national parks, protected forests, and nature reserves.

After understanding about biodiversity. Next will be explained about the classification of living things. However, before it is explained further, what is meant by classification?

Classification is a process of classification of living things which is carried out systematically according to a certain rule. This is intended to provide convenience in learning about the characteristics and properties possessed by a living creature.

Then, what are the aims and benefits of learning about classification? The purpose of the classification of living things can be explained as follows.

  1. To explain the characteristics possessed by living things. By understanding the description of the characteristics of living things, we can know the differences between living things with one another.
  2. To find out about the kinship that exists between living things with one another.
  3. To give a name to living things that are just known.
  4. To classify living things based on the similarity of the features they have.

By looking at the purpose of the classification system in these living things, it can be seen several benefits. The benefits of the classification of living things are as follows.

  1. So that kinship that exists in living things can be known.
  2. Make it easy to learn about living things that are very diverse types.

The classification of living things is not without basis. The things that become the basis for the classification system in living things can be explained as follows.

  1. Classification of living things based on differences.
  2. Classification of living things based on equations.
  3. Classification of living things based on biochemical characteristics.
  4. Classification of living things based on morphological and anatomical features.
  5. Classification of living things based on benefits.

What are the stages of classification? The classification of living things has three stages. These three stages must be passed when wanting to classify living things. These stages are as follows:

  1. Conduct a process of identification and observation carried out on the properties possessed by living things.
  2. Classifying living things based on the characteristics and characteristics observed.
  3. Give a name to new types of living things. The purpose of doing so is to make it easier to recognize and be able to distinguish with other living things.

After understanding about the stages of classification. What are the types of classification? The types of classifications can be explained as follows.

  1. Artificial system classification. Classification of artificial systems is defined as a classification based on morphological characteristics that are easily observed from living things. An example of an artificial system classification is a plant classification system consisting of trees, herbs, and shrubs.
  2. Classification of natural systems. The classification of natural systems is defined as a classification based on morphological, physiological, and anatomical properties possessed by living things. Examples of natural system classifications are cows, buffaloes and goats classified into four-legged animals or morphological.
  3. Phylogenic system classification. The phylogenic system classification can be interpreted as a type of classification based on the evolutionary history of living things and the kinship between one taxon and another. Examples of classification of phylogenic systems are the kinship that exists between orangutans and gorillas.

Also check out:  Fungus or Fungus: Characteristics, Structure, Way of Life, Reproduction, and Classification

After learning about the various types of classification. Next, it is explained about the name system of living things. The naming system for living things consists of two parts names.

The second part of the name is called the double nomenclature system or also known as Binomial nomenclature. The nomenclature system for living things was first introduced by Carolus Linnaeus. That was done in 1707 until 1778.

The taxonomic hierarchy introduced by Carolus Linnaeus consists of taxon or rank. This level starts from the high level to the low level. This level can be described as follows.

Kingdom – divisio or plant / phylum or animal – class – order – family – genus – species

What is the rule of giving a name system to living things. The rules on the nomenclature Binomial name system can be explained as follows.

  1. Consists of two Latin words or trained.
  2. The first word starts with an uppercase letter. The first word is the name of the genus. The second word starts with a lowercase letter. This second word is an indicator of species or epitheton specific.
  3. Posts must be italicized, when printed or typed on a computer. Or given an underscore, if handwritten. Example: if written by hand, then Elaeis oleiferaor palm oil. Then, if typed in a computer, then Rhinoceros sondaicus or one-horned rhinoceros.

The development of the classification system can be broken down into five types, namely the two kingdom system, the three kingdom system, the four kingdom system, the five kingdom system, and the six kingdom system.

Such is the explanation on Biodiversity and Classification of Living Things . Hopefully this article can help friends of the science portal to understand about biological material. Have a good study

by Abdullah Sam
I’m a teacher, researcher and writer. I write about study subjects to improve the learning of college and university students. I write top Quality study notes Mostly, Tech, Games, Education, And Solutions/Tips and Tricks. I am a person who helps students to acquire knowledge, competence or virtue.

Leave a Comment