Where is Cascadia?

Cascadia covers parts of the United States and some of Canada’s provinces, including all parts of southern Alaska, British Columbia, Oregon, Montana, North Carolina and Washington. It is also a proposed country whose borders are sometimes traced according to political states, ecological, cultural and economic lines. Cascadia is also an all-encompassing movement that aims to eliminate arbitrary boundaries and borders and to build a bioregional community that promotes a culture of love for a place. The region within the borders of Cascadia is home to just over 15 million people and has an economy that produces more than $ 670 billion in assets. By total area of ​​land, the region would be the 20th largest country in the world with a land area of ​​over 534,000 square miles.


Cascadia movement

Cascadia, more than being a region, is a movement whose goal is to promote connection and promote interdependence, sustainability and resilience within its borders. As an interdependent movement, Cascadia considers the social and cultural movement as a unit of interaction between people within the region and where everyone takes responsibility rather than having a political system in which people elect their favorite leader of occasionally look at a person for leadership. The main areas addressed by the movement include the environment, civil liberty, regional integration and bioregionalism. The Cascadia movement aims not only to secession, but rather to the survival of peak oil,

The Cascadia flag

A cascadian flag, known as Doug Flag, is a primary symbol of the Cascadian bioregion. It symbolizes the natural beauty and aspirations of people who identify with the bioregion Doug Flag is a direct representation of the bioregion. Doug Flag was designed in 1994 by Alexander Baretich, originally from Portland. The blue color at the top represents the sky rich in humidity and the Pacific Ocean and other water bodies. The white color in the center represents snow and clouds while the green at the bottom represents the forest and the evergreen fields of bioregion

The size of Cascadia

Cascadia includes Oregon, Washington, British Columbia, Montana, Idaho and southeastern Alaska. The bioregion covers over 530,000 square miles of land; the water and the sea would considerably increase the area. Cascadia takes the form of a curved land that crosses the Pacific Ocean, the Rocky Mountains and the Continental Divide. On the northern side, the bioregion extends from Mendocino in northern California to Icy Bay in the Gulf of Alaska.

Cascadia regional identity

Cascadia is an important economic region and has been embraced by several key leaders and organizations. The bioregion has been served by various agencies and interstate organizations since 2008 after the signing of the Pacific Coast Collaborative, which highlights the coordinated policies on natural resource management, emergency preparedness, regional transport and tourism. Cascadia is considered to be sufficiently energetic due to the high propensity to renewable energy resources. According to research conducted by Western Standard in 2005, support for the secession of Cascadia from Canada varies with British Columbia and Alberta supports 37% and 42% respectively.

by Abdullah Sam
I’m a teacher, researcher and writer. I write about study subjects to improve the learning of college and university students. I write top Quality study notes Mostly, Tech, Games, Education, And Solutions/Tips and Tricks. I am a person who helps students to acquire knowledge, competence or virtue.

Leave a Comment