Adam Riess

Adam Riess. American scientist widely known for his research in cosmology. Nobel Prize in Physics 2011 with scientists Saul Perlmutter and Brian Schmidt .


[ hide ]

  • 1 Biographical synthesis
    • 1 Scientific background
    • 2 Investigations carried out
  • 2 Awards and recognitions
  • 3 Sources

Biographical synthesis

He was born in December of 1969 in Washington DC

Scientific training

Graduated from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1992 , where he was a member of the Phi Delta Theta fraternity. Doctorate from Harvard University in 1996 . His doctoral thesis was supervised by Robert Kirshner and led to measurements of more than twenty new supernovae. Astrophysicist from Johns Hopkins University and the Space Telescope Science Institute.

Investigations carried out

Recognized for his research in the use of supernovae as cosmological probes. Miller’s classmate at the University of Berkeley in California before moving on to the Space Telescope Science Institute in 1999 . Riess led the study in 1998 with the High-z Supernova Search Team that first reported evidence that the rate of expansion of the universe is accelerating. This result was also found by the Supernova Cosmology Project. The discovery of the acceleration of the Universe was named ‘Revelation of the Year’ by Science magazine in 1998 .

Riess conducts the top-Z SN search program that uses the Hubble Space Telescope to discover the most distant supernovae. His team has tracked the expansion of the universe for more than 10 million light years. The most important conclusion has been the detection of a first phase of expansion deceleration caused by the most distant supernovae

Awards and honours

  • 1999Received the Trumpler Prize from the Pacific Astronomical Society .
  • 2011Received the Harvard ‘s Bok Award .
  • 2003Received the Helen B. Warner Award from the American Astronomical Society
  • 2004Received the Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize for the discovery of cosmic acceleration.
  • 2006, he shared the $ 1 million Shaw Astronomy Award with Saul Perlmutter and Brian P. Schmidt for their contributions to the discovery of the acceleration of the universe.
  • On October 4of 2011 , along with Saul Perlmutter and Brian Schmidt was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for his work on accelerated expansion of the Universe and supernovae, he announced the Royal Academy of Sciences of Sweden . One half of the SEK 10 million (€ 1.09 million) goes to Saul Perlmutter, while the other half goes to Australian-American Brian Schmidt and American Adam Riess.


Leave a Comment