Delete Facebook Messenger Account: complete guide

Read how to delete or deactivate the Facebook Messenger account to stop receiving messages.

Messenger is the famous instant messaging application developed by the social network Facebook. It turns out to be one of the most used apps, just think that in 2016 the same social network announced that the Messenger platform was used on average by one billion users per month. Thanks to Messenger, sending messages and making video calls with friends is really simple, but in some cases, it may happen that you no longer want to use this application and you want to delete it.

The reasons that can lead you to no longer want to use Facebook Messenger could be many. For example it is possible:

  • that you are annoyed by the continuous messages that come to you and you no longer want to receive alerts or communications on your Messenger account;
  • you no longer want to receive messages from people who disturb and annoy you;
  • you had “granted” friendship to several people on Facebook but now you don’t want to have anything to do with them anymore.
  • you have decided to permanently switch to another messaging app.

The decision to delete Messenger account may therefore be due to several factors. In any case, regardless of why you want to delete your Messenger account , below we will explain the procedure to follow in order to delete it permanently.

Before going into the discussion, however, it is necessary to make a clarification: maybe what you are looking for is not like deleting a Messenger account permanently but you just want to take a break from Messenger. If you just want to unplug for a while, then deleting your account isn’t the best solution. In fact, you must know that when you delete a Messenger account you will necessarily have to unsubscribe from Facebook as well . Permanently unsubscribing from Messenger, therefore, inevitably involves deleting your Facebook account . If you intend to remove yourself from Messenger and want to permanently delete the account, you will inevitably lose all the content previously published on Facebook such as posts, photos and videos. Fordelete the Facebook account  follow this guide.
If you want to adopt a less drastic solution, you can choose to disable Messenger only for a period of time or other solutions that we will indicate to you in the course of this article.

  1. How to temporarily disable Messenger
  2. How to remove multiple accounts added to Messenger
  3. Alternatives to permanently unsubscribe from Messenger

How to temporarily disable Messenger

You can only deactivate Messenger if you have already deactivated your Facebook account . The procedure to follow to deactivate Messenger after deactivating your Facebook account from iPhone or iPad is as follows:

  • Open Messenger;
  • Tap your profile picture in the top left corner> Legal and regulatory information> Deactivate Messenger;
  • Tap Disable.

On Android instead:

  • Open Messenger;
  • Tap your profile picture in the top left corner> Legal and regulatory information> Deactivate Messenger;
  • Tap Disable.

How to remove multiple accounts added to Messenger

If your need is not to permanently delete an account from Messenger but simply to remove an account added to the original one, then know that this operation is possible.
Messenger allows you to add multiple accounts and switch between them. Also, you can remove the accounts you’ve added, but you can’t remove all the accounts. You can remove the accounts you have added, but at least one must always remain active.
Here’s what to do to remove an account you added on iOS or Android:

  • From Chat, tap your profile picture in the top left;
  • Scroll down and tap Switch account;
  • Swipe left over the account you want to remove;
  • Tap Remove.

Alternatives to permanently unsubscribe from Messenger

In addition to deactivating the Facebook account or permanently unsubscribing from Messenger, it is possible to adopt a less drastic solution, i.e. uninstalling the application .
This alternative can be useful for those who want to get rid of Facebook Messenger temporarily , perhaps because the mobile phone has suffered in terms of performance or simply because you are exasperated by the number of notifications that come to you every day. Remember, therefore, that by uninstalling the Messenger application you will not lose the data and chats you previously had.
There are other options in case you don’t want to completely delete an account on Messenger or uninstall the application. For example, you coulddisable notifications for a single user or group or you could disable chats and calls, or prevent new people who add us from contacting us. It is also possible to act drastically by disabling all notifications in a single click.
Another alternative to not be annoyed on Messenger is to be inactive. This will prevent users from texting you at times when you don’t want to be disturbed. You can still read the messages later and continue using the Messenger application

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top