Did you know you could delete direct messages on X (formerly Twitter) ? Imagine you sent a message criticizing your boss and accidentally sent it to their account… or you sent a DM to someone you shouldn’t have, telling them something you shouldn’t have…
Okay, after the initial panic following the “send” button, you should know that no matter how much you want to delete it, there’s only a small chance that the recipient of the wrong message won’t see it.
In X, you can delete DMs you didn’t intend to send, but these are only deleted from the sender’s account. The recipient will still see your message, so you’ll have to resort to other actions like deleting the conversation or even the account entirely.
What to do if you want to delete a message in an X chat (formerly Twitter)
In this article, you will learn the options available to you if you want to delete a direct message on social network X:
Remove DM in X
To delete a direct message (DM) in X, all you have to do is open the conversation and hold your finger on the message you want to delete if you are using the mobile app.
If you are using X from your computer or the web, what you need to do is click on the three-dot icon next to the message and select “Delete for you”.
Keep in mind that, in both cases, this only deletes the message from your account, and the recipient can still see it.
Delete the entire conversation
The other option you have is to delete the entire conversation, leaving no trace of it. To do this, follow these steps:
In the X mobile app, you just have to swipe left (that is, slide your finger across the screen from right to left over the conversation) and choose “Delete conversation”.
On the web version, click the “info” icon next to the conversation and select “Delete conversation.” Alternatively, click the username, then the three-dot icon to open the menu and select “Delete conversation.” This will delete all messages.
Report content on X
If you receive a message that you believe violates X’s Terms of Use, or in which you are being harassed or bothered in any way, you can report the content to X to have it removed and also notify the social network of the questionable behavior of the user who contacted you.

