How to share an AirTag

If you want to share an item attached to an AirTag, you can also share it in the Find My app on your iPhone, iPad, or Mac. That way, if it gets lost, both of you, or more, can find it instantly.

The AirTag is an essential device for those who frequently lose things. Some even use it to locate their own car, pet, or loved ones. Thanks to this tiny device, you can see the location of an object on your iPhone, iPad, or Mac. You can then find it by viewing a map or playing a sound on the AirTag itself. But there’s more. Did you know you can share an AirTag , or rather, its location?

Let’s say you need to share an item with someone that has an AirTag installed on it. Keys, a suitcase, or a padel racket. A one-off loan or something more regular. Why not allow that person to access the item’s location from their iPhone so they can find it if it gets lost? Apple already thought of that. What’s more, this AirTag sharing feature is available for up to five people, in addition to you . That’s a maximum of six users per item.

So, if you need to share keys, a backpack, a wallet, a suitcase, a bicycle, a toolbox, a scooter, or anything else you can imagine that can hold an AirTag device , the AirTag sharing feature will allow those with access to the item’s location to find it more easily. Or, simply, to know who is using it at that moment because it matches their personal location .

Requirements for sharing an AirTag

To share an AirTag with up to five people (six people per AirTag), you need to meet a few fairly easy requirements if you’re an Apple user. The official help documentation states that you can share “third-party items” in the same way as an AirTag, so this method works for other brands and manufacturers as well, unless they specify otherwise. These are the requirements for sharing an AirTag:

  • Your Apple account must have two-factor authentication enabled .
  • Everyone must have an Apple account and be logged in with it.
  • Everyone should use iCloud .
  • An AirTag cannot be shared with child accounts .
  • Everyone must have iCloud Keychain enabled .
  • Everyone must use at least iOS 17, iPadOS 17, or macOS 14.
  • Everyone must have the Search app installed .

Share an AirTag with other users

To share an AirTag with your family, friends, acquaintances, coworkers, or neighbors, you’ll need to follow these steps. Basically, you’ll have to open the Find My app and configure the AirTag to be visible to others. Then, decide which person or people will have access to your location. Let’s see how to do it, step by step.

  1. Open the Find My app on your iPhone .
  2. Touch Objects . 
  3. Tap the name of the AirTag or the item you want to share.
  4. Tap Add person in Share this AirTag .
  5. Enter that person’s Apple account information.
  6. You can add two or more people at once by pressing the + button .
  7. Tap the name of the person you want to share with.
  8. Select your Apple account.
  9. Once you have the complete list, press Share .
  10. You will see the list of invited people and the status of the invitations.

From there, those people will receive the invitation as a notification . You might see the invitation on your iPhone screen, or you might have to check it directly in the Find My app . Specifically, you’ll need to go to Items . There you’ll see if there are any invitations and you can accept or decline them . If you accept, the item will appear in your Items list. And if someone has invited you by mistake, you can simply decline the offer.

Stop sharing the AirTag

Sharing an AirTag can be common, especially for items frequently used by a family, group of friends, or in an office or workplace. It can also be a one-off loan that will eventually return to its original owner. Whatever your situation, if you own the AirTag, you can stop sharing it whenever you want , just like you can stop sharing your location with friends or family using the Find My app . The principle is the same.

To stop sharing an AirTag:

  1. Open the Find My app on your iPhone .
  2. Go to Items .
  3. Tap the name of the item or AirTag you are sharing.
  4. Now select the name of the person you are sharing it with.
  5. Tap Stop sharing .
  6. You’ll have to confirm it one more time.

When you stop sharing an item or AirTag, the person you’re sharing with will no longer see the AirTag’s location , but they may receive tracking notifications when the AirTag moves with them. However, once the item is a certain distance away from the borrower, those notifications will disappear. As you might expect, you can reshare an item as many times as you like, just as easily as sharing a physical object. But with the added benefit of being able to find it more easily .

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top