How to block content on TikTok

Blocking content on TikTok will help you ensure that the platform only recommends videos that interest you.Sometimes, TikTok’s algorithm may show you controversial, sensationalist, or contentious material because this type of content generates more reactions and interactions.

But if you want to keep videos that don’t match your tastes at bay, the app has everything you need to improve your recommendations. Not only can you reset TikTok’s algorithm and start from scratch, but you can also block content you’re not interested in to make your preferences clear.

Steps to block content on TikTok

You have two methods at your disposal: the first is to block a user’s videos, and the other is to restrict specific words to filter content as you see fit.

Block videos from a user

If you don’t want to see a person’s or account’s content again, follow these steps:

– Enter a video of the individual you want to block.

– Now, press and hold the center of the screen until a floating menu appears. You’ll see several options; tap “Report.”

– Several reasons why you don’t like the video in question will be displayed; select the one that best suits your needs.

– You will be redirected to a notice with the terms of the complaint on TikTok, there click “Submit.”

– Finally, activate the switch for the “Hide content from…” option so you don’t see videos from that user again. To confirm, press “Done.”

Block words on TikTok

Using the word filter is effective for eliminating content you don’t like or don’t care about at all. Do the following:

– Go to the TikTok app and go to your “Profile” (bottom right corner).

– Tap the three horizontal lines in the top right corner and select “Settings and privacy.”

– Go to “Content Preferences.”

– Now, in the “Filter by keywords” option, add the terms you don’t want to appear again on TikTok. When you’re done, click “Save.” This way, the app won’t display videos containing the words you’ve blocked again.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top