In this guide I explain how to delete a DeepSeek account from your computer and mobile. I show you all the steps you need to follow.Do you want to delete a DeepSeek account? Unlike other companies, this Chinese startup makes it quite easy to delete the profile you have created. However, as I explain below, this does not mean that you will be able to delete the data you have already provided to this chatbot. Anyway, for the moment, I am going to focus on explaining how to delete a DeepSeek account , both from your PC and from your mobile. I will show you how to do it step by step.
Delete DeepSeek account step by step
Companies don’t always make it easy for users to delete an online account . In fact, on sites like Facebook, you need to go to a specific link to complete this procedure.
Both DeepSeek and its main competitor, ChatGPT, feature a button that deletes a user’s account in a matter of seconds . This option is included in the settings of both chatbots, both on PC and mobile. In this guide, I’ll help you close your DeepSeek account. Let’s see the procedure on PC and mobile.
On the PC
If you are accessing DeepSeek via computer, after logging in, simply click on your account avatar , which is located in the bottom left corner. Then, from the menu, select Settings .
Next, a pop-up menu will open showing the main chatbot options. You need to click on the Profile tab . At the bottom of the entire list of settings, you will see a red button that says Delete . Click on it if you really want to delete your DeepSeek account.Finally, in the text field below, you need to type the phrase DELETE MY ACCOUNT , as it appears in grey before entering any text. This will confirm to DeepSeek that you are fully convinced of what you are going to do and that you know the consequences.
Finally, press the red button that says Confirm delete my account . After doing this, you will be logged out and your account will be deleted.
On mobile
If, like many other users, you have downloaded DeepSeek on Android or iOS, you will be happy to know that it is also very easy to cancel your account from this device. How?
The steps are really simple:
- Open the DeepSeek app.
- Pull down the side menu, which is where your conversation history is.
- Then, tap on your account icon. You may have a profile picture assigned to it. In any case, it’s in the bottom left corner.
- In the menu, press the Delete account button .
- Finally, confirm the deletion of your account in the pop-up message that you will see on the screen.
Immediately after completing these steps, you will be logged out of DeepSeek. This means that your account has been completely deleted and you can no longer access the service. It also means that there is no way to recover your chats, as there is when you follow the steps from a computer.
Deleting your DeepSeek account does not delete all your data.
DeepSeek is a service located in China , where data protection laws are not too strict. In fact, the Chinese government can access any information that falls under its jurisdiction, even if it is owned by a company. There is no deception in all this. DeepSeek makes it very clear in its terms and conditions that all data is hosted on Chinese servers.
After looking at the terms of service and privacy policy , we have noticed that DeepSeek reserves the right to retain users’ personal data for as long as necessary. To start with, regarding account deletion, it simply mentions this:
Then, talking about the length of time they keep personal information, he mentions this:
It follows from this that even when an account is deleted, personal data is kept for as long as the company deems necessary. Not so that the action of deleting a DeepSeek account influences that last criterion. With this in mind, here are two tips for responsible use of DeepSeek and other AI services:
- Don’t send sensitive or private documents . While DeepSeek is capable of analyzing documents, spreadsheets, and other types of files , ideally none of them should contain sensitive data, such as addresses, phone numbers, or passwords.
- Avoid sending information through chats . You should also not send personal or sensitive data through chats you have with DeepSeek. The same criteria can be applied to ChatGPT and other AI platforms. It is possible that the models, when trained with this data, establish connections that end up exposing the information in other chats.
And you, why have you decided to delete your DeepSeek account? Leave me your opinion below. See you soon!

