Gmail’s confidential mode is a security feature that allows you to send emails that will be automatically deleted after a set amount of time.In the digital age, online security is a fundamental aspect that should not be taken lightly. Sharing personal or confidential information via email or instant messaging poses a risk that cannot be ignored.
How to use Gmail confidential mode
Gmail’s confidential mode is a security feature that allows you to send emails with an extra level of protection . When you turn on this mode, your messages and attachments cannot be forwarded, copied, printed, or downloaded.
Gmail sets an expiration date for your email. Once the scheduled date has passed, the recipient will no longer be able to access the message. You can also choose to set a passcode that the other person must enter in order to read the email.
So how can you send confidential emails in Gmail? Here we explain step by step how to do it, both on your computer and on your mobile or tablet.
From the browser
The first step is to open Gmail in your web browser, it doesn’t matter if it’s Chrome, Edge, Firefox or Safari , any of them will work. Once you’re inside your inbox , you need to click on the Compose button
At the bottom of the window, click on the little lock icon. A new window will open where you have to select an expiration date for your email. You can choose 1 day, 1 week, 1 month, 3 months or 5 years.
Additionally, if you wish, you can set an access code. To do this, simply click on the SMS Password option , where the recipient must enter this code to open the message. Finally, compose your email and click Send .
From a mobile or tablet
As in the previous step, the first thing you need to do is open the Gmail app on your device, whether it’s a mobile phone, an Android tablet or an iPhone, the procedure applies to all of them equally.
Tap the Compose icon to start writing a new email. Then, find and tap the three-dot icon in the top right corner of the screen and click the Confidential Mode option from the drop-down menu.
Set the expiration and security options to your preference, where you can set the message to last from 1 day to 5 years. Finally, type your email and tap Send when you’re done.
Now you know that Gmail offers you a very useful tool to protect your information , so you can take advantage of confidential mode and share your most important data with total security.

