How to delete a PayPal account

Step-by-step guide to safely delete your PayPal account

Here we show you how to delete a PayPal account safely and in the simplest way possible. And it is that with online purchases with money involved , there is always that insecurity on the part of the user in case third parties manage to get hold of our personal or bank data. That is why there are online payment methods such as PayPal that offer total security and protect our data in our purchases on the Internet, creating a profile and a “fictitious” account so that we do not have to expose any sensitive data . But it is also possible that after using PayPal, we want to get rid of our accountif we know that we will never use it again or we have had some kind of problem with it. Therefore, and thanks to our step-by-step guide , you will learn how to delete your PayPal account through a few simple steps.

How to delete your PayPal account

Index of contents

  • Preliminary considerations
  • How to transfer your balance online
  • How to remove your payment methods
  • How to delete your PayPal account

Preliminary considerations

We must take into account several aspects before permanently deleting our PayPal account:

  • The process is irreversible and the account cannot be recovered.
  • All transactions in progress will be deleted.
  • The account cannot be deleted if it has a balance.
  • The account cannot be deleted if there are limitations.
  • The account cannot be deleted if there are unresolved issues.
  • The account cannot be deleted if your email is unconfirmed.

If you meet all the requirements to delete your PayPal account , read on.

How to transfer your balance online

One of the main requirements to delete a PayPal account is that it does not contain any balance or money ; therefore, it is advisable to transfer the balance of a PayPal account before deleting it completely. Follow the steps below to transfer your PayPal balance to your bank account or someone else’s:

  1. Access the official PayPal website and log in.
  2. Enter the My portfoliosection .
  3. Click on the Transfer moneyoption .
  4. Now click on Transfer to bank account.
  5. Select the bank account to which you want to transfer your PayPal balance.
  6. Click on Continue.
  7. Choose the total amount and click on Next.
  8. Finally, click on Transfer now.

After the balance transfer we recommend waiting one or two business days before deleting the account, as this is the time it usually takes for PayPal balance movements.

How to remove your payment methods

Before deleting your PayPal account, you must delete all the payment methods that you have registered. Thus, you will have to delete either a bank account and / or a PayPal account card ; Follow the steps below to delete your PayPal payment methods:

How to delete a bank account

If you have a problem with your PayPal account, a direct solution is to delete the bank account associated with it. Follow the steps below:

From the PC

  1. Access Portfolio.
  2. Click on Bank account.
  3. Click on Delete bank account.

From the PayPal app

  1. Access the Settingsoption .
  2. Click on Bank accounts and cards.
  3. Select the account you want to delete.
  4. Click on Delete.

How to delete a PayPal account card

On the other hand, you can also delete a debit or credit card associated with your PayPal account; follow the steps below:

  1. Access your PayPal account.
  2. Access Portfolio.
  3. Choose the card you want to delete.
  4. Click on Delete card.

How to delete your PayPal account

Now you can completely delete your PayPal account through a few simple steps that will not take more than a couple of minutes. Of course, it will be necessary to do it from a PC , since it is not possible from the mobile app; Follow the steps below to permanently delete your PayPal account:

  1. Access the official PayPal website and log in with your personal information, that is, user account and password.
  2. Click on the Settingsicon .
  3. Click on the option Close your account.
  4. Follow the instructions to close your PayPal account.

Remember that if you have a pending transaction, PayPal will remind you that you must solve the situation before continuing, since it will not let you continue until there are no pending transactions. Once you delete the account, you will no longer be able to recover it . Of course, you can always create new accounts and associate them with the same bank account, but they will be new accounts and the previous transaction history will disappear.

 

by Abdullah Sam
I’m a teacher, researcher and writer. I write about study subjects to improve the learning of college and university students. I write top Quality study notes Mostly, Tech, Games, Education, And Solutions/Tips and Tricks. I am a person who helps students to acquire knowledge, competence or virtue.

Leave a Comment