Understanding Zakat, Kinds and Rights of Zakat Recipients

Understanding Zakat, Kinds and Rights of Recipient of Zakat  – Zakat is one of the three pillars of Islam. We have done zakat since we were little, even since we were born into the world. What is zakat? In the discussion this time, aboutKnowledge Knowledge will share an explanation of zakat, and the kinds and who are entitled to receive zakat. Surely we all already know and understand about the pillars of Islam on this one. However, to be more clear and useful for those who do not know and are still learning. Immediately, the following explanation.

Table of Contents [ hide ]

  • 1Definition of Zakat, Types and Rights of Zakat Recipients
    • 1Definition of Zakat
    • 2Types of Zakat
      • 2.1Zakat Fitrah
      • 2.2Zakat Times
    • 3Mustahiq Zakat
      • 3.1Poor
      • 3.2Poor
      • 3.3Amil
      • 3.4Convert
      • 3.5Gharim
      • 3.6Servants of Sahaya
      • 3.7Sabilillah
      • 3.8Ibnu Sabil
    • 4Share this:
    • 5Related posts:

Understanding Zakat, Kinds and Rights of Zakat Recipients

Let us first discuss the meaning of zakat carefully.

Understanding Zakat

By nature or language, zakat comes from the Arabic language meaning holy, growing and developing, blessing, and praising. Whereas in the terms of Shari’ah, zakat means a form of worship to Allah SWT by issuing some of its property and its law is obligatory to be issued in accordance with its rules and given to certain groups who are entitled to it.

Allah says in the letter At-Taubah verse 103 which means ” Take from their charity (charity) to cleanse them and erase their sins ” (QS At Taubah: 103).

And according to the word of Allah in QS An-Nisa verse 77 which means: ” Perform prayers and perform charity  “.

By performing zakat, we have cleared the treasure we have. Zakat is performed once a year exactly during the month of Ramadan. By issuing a zakat, it does not mean that the property owned will be depleted, of course not. Zakat means purifying, purifying, enhancing. Thus, some of the compulsory property, though it may appear to be diminished but in principle, will increase in value & purity, and will purify and purify it from all sin.


Read Also:   Patience: Understanding Islam and Its Essays


Various Zakat

Zakat is divided into two kinds namely zakat fitrah and zakat maal. The explanation is as follows:

Zakat Fitrah

Zakat which must be issued by every Muslim before the day of victory is the Eid al-Fitr on the holy month of Ramadan. The size of zakat issued is 2.5 kg and in the form of staple foods in their respective areas, such as rice, sago, wheat, dates and others. According to Imam Shafi’iyah the size of zakat fitrah namely:

  • 1 sha ‘: 2 Egyptian Qodah
  • 1 sha ‘: 4 Mud
  • 1 mud: 1⅓ kati Baghdad
  • 1 closed: 128 4/7 Dirham
  • 1 Dirham: 4 grams
  • So the number of 1 sha ‘is equal to 2.743 kg

Zakat Maal

This is a zakat of wealth given by every Muslim. Examples of properties to be explored include mining, livestock, business, plantation, marine, gold & silver, discovery. And all those properties have their count. As for the requirement to issue zakat is sufficient haul or up to one year except for agricultural property such as fruits or produce, it does not have to wait for one year.

Mustahiq Zakat

These are the people who are entitled to zakat. As for the obligatory zakat of property there are eight ashes according to the word of Allah QS At-Taubah verse 60, which is:


Are people who do not have the wealth for their daily needs and are unable to work or endeavor.


Are people who have an income, but not enough to meet their daily needs or lack.


They are the people whose job it is to collect and distribute zakat to those who are entitled to receive it. It can also be called the zakat committee.


People who are new to Islam and still need guidance because their faith is still weak.


Namely people who have debts and debts, but can not afford to pay it.


Also Read:   √ Definition of Circumcision, Law, Evidence, Procedure, Time, Complete Benefits


Servant Sahaya

Or called slaves. These are the people who are not yet free and free.


It is people who struggle in the way of Allah SWT, such as the martyrs’, the scholars, religious teachers who teach religious knowledge in the pesantren or in the mosque etc.

Ibnu Sabil

These are pilgrims or on the go for example, people who are scholarly, perform the preaching etc.


by Abdullah Sam
I’m a teacher, researcher and writer. I write about study subjects to improve the learning of college and university students. I write top Quality study notes Mostly, Tech, Games, Education, And Solutions/Tips and Tricks. I am a person who helps students to acquire knowledge, competence or virtue.

Leave a Comment