How to understand if a contact has been deleted from WhatsApp

You would like to invite your best friend to eat a pizza with other people, to spend some time together. You then tried to contact him on WhatsApp but, to your surprise, you couldn’t. After several attempts, a remote, albeit not unlikely, possibility arose in your mind: your friend may have unsubscribed from the famous instant messaging service and, now, clarifying your doubt has become a priority.

How do you say? Is this really the case? If so, I guess that’s why you’re wondering how to tell if a contact has unsubscribed from WhatsApp . Speaking of which, don’t worry; succeeding in this intent is possible and, with this tutorial of mine I am just going to show you, step by step, how to proceed, verifying this information using the official app of the famous messaging service. Furthermore, in the next chapters of this guide, for the sake of completeness of information, I will also provide you with useful information to understand if a contact has deleted you from contacts or blocked you within the messaging service.

So, are you ready to learn more on the subject? Yup? Very good! Sit down comfortably, take all the time you need to concentrate on reading the next paragraphs and, more importantly, implement the “tips” that I will give you. You will see, by carefully following the instructions I will give you, you will not have the slightest problem to find out if one of your contacts has been deleted from the famous messaging app. I wish you happy reading and I wish you a big good luck for everything!

Index

  • How to understand if a contact has been deleted from WhatsApp
    • Search the contact list
    • Check if the number has changed
  • How to understand if a contact has deleted me from WhatsApp
    • Check your profile picture
    • See the last login
    • Send a test message

How to understand if a contact has been deleted from WhatsApp

From the moment you wonder how to understand if a contact has been unsubscribed from WhatsApp, I advise you to continue reading because, in the following paragraphs, I will provide you with useful explanations regarding the possibility of implementing some solutions that will allow you to deduce this. information.

The operations I am about to mention can be implemented using the WhatsApp app for Android (downloadable from the Play Store or the official WhatsApp website ) and the one for iOS (downloadable from the App Store ).

Search the contact list

The first solution you can put in place, to see if a contact is no longer using WhatsApp as an instant messaging app, is to search for their name in the contact list of the service in question.

Therefore, to start, start the WhatsApp app and press the button with the cartoon symbol located at the bottom (on Android ) or the pencil icon (on iPhone ) in order to see the list of all contacts in your address book that they are using WhatsApp .

At this point, use the search engine ( the magnifying glass icon ) and type the name of the person you suspect has deleted from WhatsApp .

If you are shown the Invite button next to his name , then it means that the user in question is not using WhatsApp as the button displayed is used to invite the user to register for the instant messaging service owned by Facebook .

Check if the number has changed

If you suspect that a person you know has unsubscribed from WhatsApp , another thing you can check is if the user in question has changed their number; in this case, in fact, his previous number will be deactivated and, to continue chatting on WhatsApp , you will have to send a message to his new number or add it to your contacts.

To verify this, start the WhatsApp app and through the Chat screen or using the search engine located at the top ( the magnifying glass icon ) search for the contact of your interest and tap on his conversation to view it.

At this point, if the user has changed their number, you will be shown a notice informing you of the matter. Once this is done, press on the wording Touch to send a message to the new number or add it to your contacts , then choose whether to send a message to the new number ( Send message ) or add it to your contacts ( Add to contacts ).

How to understand if a contact has deleted me from WhatsApp

Do you suspect that a person you know has deleted you from WhatsApp contacts and, therefore, would you like some help to shed some light on the matter? In that case don’t worry; in the following chapters I will provide you with some useful solutions to this effect.

However, you must bear in mind that, while there are a number of clues that may lead you to assume this information, none of these can give you absolute certainty that the person in question has removed you from their contact list or, in the worst case, that blocked you.

Also, if you want more information on  how to understand if you have been blocked on WhatsApp  and on  how to get unblocked on WhatsApp , take a look at the guides that I have linked to you. I am sure that these insights will also be useful to you.

Check your profile picture

The first check that you can implement is that concerning the possibility of viewing the personal information of the user who you think has blocked or deleted you including the profile picture and the information of the same which will no longer be visible.

Therefore, start the WhatsApp app and search for the contact of your interest through the Chat section or using the search engine ( the magnifying glass icon ) and then tap on the contact of your interest to view the dedicated private chat.

Once this is done, tap on his name at the top: if the profile picture is empty and if you are no longer able to view the profile information then it is possible that you are no longer among the contacts of the person in question or that you have been stuck.

Obviously please note that this is a hypothetical situation: the user may have decided to remove the picture and profile information voluntarily.

See the last login

To evaluate if you have been removed from a person’s contacts on WhatsApp you can also see if you are able to view the last access to the service even if this information can be easily deactivated voluntarily.

In any case, after starting the WhatsApp app , tap on the contact of your interest, after having identified it via the Chat screen or using the search engine ( the magnifying glass icon ).

Once this is done, check if at the top, in correspondence with the user ‘s name , the date and time of the last access to WhatsApp is shown .

If not, if you exclude the possibility that the user in question has disabled the last access through the privacy settings , then it is actually possible that you have been removed from WhatsApp contacts or that you have been blocked.

Send a test message

Another operation that you can put in place, to see if you have been deleted or blocked on WhatsApp , is that relating to sending a message to the contact, to see if it is delivered.

Therefore, locate the contact in question through the WhatsApp app , tap on his name to view the dedicated private chat and use the text field at the bottom to write a message.

Once this is done, send it by pressing on the airplane icon and refer to the check mark that is shown to you: if only one gray check mark appears, it means that the message has not been delivered.

In that case it could be that the user in question is offline or, at worst, it could actually mean that you have been deleted or blocked on WhatsApp .

by Abdullah Sam
I’m a teacher, researcher and writer. I write about study subjects to improve the learning of college and university students. I write top Quality study notes Mostly, Tech, Games, Education, And Solutions/Tips and Tricks. I am a person who helps students to acquire knowledge, competence or virtue.

Leave a Comment