How to shut down or restart the PC without showing the message by closing applications

Very probably on some occasions, you have tried to turn off or, failing that, restart your Windows device after an update , and with this, we usually find that said system throws us a window in which we are told about the existence of some applications which prevent the computer from shutting down.

It is at that moment, in which we must decide if we want to shut down or restart the system, despite these applications that are in the process of closing, since it is important to remember that if the applications are closed abruptly , It is possible that the information that is inside it, is not saved correctly.

If, despite the above described, this message is a bit annoying, within this post, we will help you to shut down or restart your PC without it appearing constantly.

This comprises a special configuration, which we can easily change by going to the system settings, read more here.

Prevent Windows from showing you the warning when shutting down

The first thing you should know is that it is necessary that before any process of shutting down your device, a backup copy of what you have done is made, especially a Word page has been opened safely or, failing that, some important page in which you are making some type of records.

In this way, if something arises wrongly within the system, you will have the possibility of recovering all your files at the moment you left it. Once this action is performed, enter the system registry window, to which we must navigate to the following path:  HKEY_USERS.DEFAULTControl PanelDesktop .

Once you are inside the Desktop registry key , we must create a new value which will go in a chain; For this action, it is important that we click on the right panel, in which we can see the registry window .

And there we will proceed to select the option ” New ” and then “string value” which is in the context menu. We will give this value the name ” AutoEndTasks ” and one created, we must give it the value 1.

After that, we will have the possibility to close the registry window and with it, we must restart the computer in order to see that all the changes we have made are applied correctly.

Right after this moment, we can start a test check in which we will try to shut down or restart our device. There we will see that the window in which the list of applications that are preventing us from closing the system will not appear again.

It is important that you take into account that by getting rid of this notice, at some point you may lose the changes that you are saving within your device by not saving them.

How to reduce the time with which the closure is pushed, which can be another alternative

As with the previous trick, if it is not a problem that this warning screen appears , but, in the same way we want the waiting time to be significantly reduced until the moment in which Windows closes all the open applications, we must follow the following steps:

To begin we must move to the directory in which we must enter the following: ” Computer \ HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ SYSTEM \ CurrentControlSet \ Control ” and right there, we can locate a value called ” WaitToKillServiceTimeou t”

This default value must be at 20000, after confirming it, we must change it to a 4-digit figure, such as 5000 and after that, save the changes that have been made.

From this moment Windows will not take so long to close the applications that are open, and with this it will begin to accelerate the shutdown.

 

Leave a Comment