How to safely and irretrievably erase files with Eraser

We may sometimes try to recover a file deleted by mistake due to a PC formatting, but it is common that when we delete a file from our PC , it is usually not completely deleted, but on the contrary, within our Hard disk is usually assigned with a zero value, within our storage space, in such a way that said available space can be integrated into any other document or file that requests it.

However, this does not imply that despite not seeing said file, it is not available within our system, since it can be recovered at any time since it was not permanently removed from the recycle bin , as long as no type of document has been overwritten in these sectors.

For this task, we can find various applications which are designed in such a way that they help us to safely delete these files. The function of these files is to erase various files in a specific way, on which they are overwritten in some sectors of the same system.

One of the applications created for this purpose, which is also free to use , is Eraser, which helps us eliminate any type of file that cannot be erased , which is within our system, in such a way that ensures that it is prevented from being recovered.

The first steps you should take

One of the first steps that we must take and take into account is the fact of downloading the program from its main page . Once we have finished the download and after that, we have started to run the tool , we can see that its interface is simple and quite intuitive, so we will not have any problem when using it.

After all this initial step, we must go to the settings panel, which we can access by pressing the ” Settings ” button in order to start selecting those algorithms, which we are going to use to proceed with deleting the files.

Within this tab, we can likewise choose the language that we want the application to have, so that we can use it without any type of problems involved , however, it is important to note that the application does not include the Spanish language, within his system. Once this is completed, we must enter the “Erase Settings” section in which 3 important aspects will be highlighted:

  • Default deletion method: In which an algorithm is activated, which will be used by default, in order to delete files in a certain way
  • Erasure method for unused space: This configuration applies the algorithm to all that “free space” that is inside the hard disk, in order to erase any file.
  • Random data source s: This will be an engine, which will help to calculate all the random data.

Performing its configuration

Once we have learned about the algorithms, we can begin to choose those that best suit the needs we have at that time, however, the settings that work by default, usually work perfectly at all times.

When we have started configuring it, we can begin with the safe elimination of all those files that we want to permanently eliminate from the system . For this task, we only have to be on the file, which we want to delete and then with the right button, click on it.

There we can see that a new window corresponding to Eraser opens , in which we must choose if the file will be deleted immediately, or if it will be deleted on the next restart of the device . When the deletion of the file has finished, we can see that a motivation appears in which we are informed that the process has been completed satisfactorily.

In this way, any file that you delete by this method will disappear permanently from the system and there will be no trace of recovery for it.

 

Leave a Comment