How to delete the largest images and videos from Google Photos

Discover the native function offered by Google Photos to recover cloud storage by deleting heavy images and videos.I’m not going to deceive you. I log into Google Photos every day, and I hadn’t identified this feature until now. I suppose it’s been there for a while, but I didn’t realize it existed until I started running out of storage space.

In any case, if you too have filled Google Photos to the brim and need to do a little cleaning, this is the best way to do it. Normally, what most people do is go through the Google Photos gallery and select the photos we want to delete, something that takes time and a little patience.

However, there is a faster way to do it. As? Well, first deleting the images and videos that take up the most space . Thus, instead of having to go through thousands of images to recover a few megabytes, we can get rid of a couple of heavy images or videos and free up a lot of space at once and in a very short time.

How to locate and delete the largest images and videos from Google Photos

In my case, for example, following this method I have managed to recover almost a gigabyte of space in one fell swoop by deleting 6 videos that I had lost in my gallery, and that I had recorded a few years ago. These are the steps we must follow:

  • Open the Google Photos app and click on your profile image, located in the upper right area of ​​the screen.
  • Tap on the storage bar.
  • This will take us to the storage management menu. Click on “ Review and delete -> Large photos and videos ”.
  • Below you will see a list of the heaviest videos and images ordered from largest to smallest. Select the content you want to delete and click on the trash icon that you will see in the upper right area.
  • Finally, tap on the confirmation message that you will see at the bottom to send all those heavy videos to the Google Photos trash.

If at any time you regret it and want to recover any of those images or videos, remember that they will remain in the trash for a maximum of 30 days . Although yes, you will notice the increase in free space in your account immediately.

If you still need to recover more space, return to the storage management screen, and repeat this same process to clean up and remove blurred images .

Here you will also find a section to delete all the screenshots you have uploaded to Google Photos, if you have any

Leave a Comment