How to delete remote desktop connection history in Windows

Connecting to a computer other than yours is a day-to-day task for many people, and it can be easily done by accessing the remote desktop of Google Chrome, for example. If you still do not know how to access your remote desktop connection history in Windows, in order to delete the archived information , here we show you.

With the guide that we will provide, you will achieve in simple steps, delete all the history that you no longer want on your computer. So, be very attentive to the procedure and you will realize that it can be done in a matter of a few minutes.

This tutorial will help you delete the history of remote desktop connections, in Windows 7, 8 and 10 . So you can follow it with complete confidence that you will achieve your goal of deleting the history you no longer want on your computer. Therefore, below, we will explain how this information appears on your computer, and what simple steps you must take to eliminate it.

How does the connection history appear on your remote desktop?

In order to get rid of your remote desktop connection history in Windows, it is first important that you understand how you get there. This happens when you connect to the Windows remote desktop to access files that are on a device other than yours, and Windows automatically records it.

In this way Windows makes a computer link between your computer and the equipment I use, and in turn makes a record in the history.

Now if you are using the remote desktop of a shared or public computer, it is understandable that you want to delete the information. But don’t worry, the advice we provide here can be put into practice on any computer that runs Windows .

Why does Windows keep this history?

When you use the remote desktop connection history in Windows to connect with another electronic device, it automatically records the name. The name of the electrical device is registered in the box of the “Connection computer” to “remote desktop”, which will facilitate the search for information .

This method that Windows uses of storage, allows the user, the next time he wants to access another computer using remote desktop, to get it on the computer easily. Of course, by connecting various computers to your computer, the list of connection history on your remote desktop will increase.

And maybe because of that, you want to delete some that you don’t use frequently anymore, but what is the process of deleting the history? Next, we will explain how to delete the connection history on your remote desktop in Windows step by step, quickly and easily.

How to delete remote desktop connection history in Windows

For you to be able to delete the remote desktop connection history, you must go to it “Windows Registry” and follow these steps.

  1. To perform manual deletion of history, you will need to go to the Windows remote desktop connection and type the word “Registry.”
  2. Afterwards, you will have to select the option “Enter”, and after this a tab with the name of “Registry Editor” will open .
  3. Next, you should go to a key with the following specifications: HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Software \ Microsoft \ Terminal Server Client \ Default.
  4. After selecting it, the “MRU Number” will appear, which is on the right side of the panel.
  5. Next, you must right click on the “Entry”, and then you must choose the option “Delete” and that’s it.

As we can see, this is a simple method to delete remote desktop connection history in Windows, which will give you excellent results. Therefore, we invite you to familiarize yourself with this quick procedure, to clean the memory of your computer and thus obtain more space for new connections. In this line of ideas, we recommend that you also take advantage of deleting the clipboard history to free up more space.

 

Leave a Comment