WhatsApp as instant messaging allows us to communicate with those closest to us. However, it has happened to many that they suddenly receive a message from a person they do not know but who is registered in their contacts, if this is your case we will show you how to delete unknown contacts .
- Why might unknown contacts appear on WhatsApp?
- WhatsApp contact list is not up to date
- You have saved contacts before and you don’t remember it
- You have not restored WhatsApp sync
- You have accounts synced on your phone
- Your Google account has been stolen
- The simplest explanation: Spam
- How can I block a contact from my WhatsApp that I don’t have registered?
- What can I do if, in addition to blocking someone, I want to permanently remove them?
- Would the other person notice if I delete their contact from WhatsApp?
- What if I want to delete Google contacts from WhatsApp?
Why might unknown contacts appear on WhatsApp?
Most WhatsApp users have the application on a mobile device. Even if they change equipment at some point, they can use their account on another device. This has its disadvantages, since if the previous owner of the equipment does not delete his Google account, you will have access to his contacts and you will be able to receive messages from them.
WhatsApp contact list is not up to date
Now this is not the only reason to receive messages from an unknown number. If your WhatsApp contact list is not up to date , it may be that you have added a person in your phone book and it is not reflected in your contacts in the application. If so, you just need to update the list .
You have saved contacts before and you don’t remember it
If you have done a business or provided a service to an unknown person with whom you had to exchange messages, that communication may have been temporary. It may happen that you have saved the number without placing an identification on it . Therefore, if you receive a message from that person again, you will surely be surprised, even so, you should not be alarmed if something strange is happening.
You have not restored WhatsApp sync
If you bought a second-hand mobile device and when you enter the application you realize that you can only see the contact numbers, but you cannot see other information, this is because you have not restored the synchronization of WhatsApp with your calendar . When you do, you will have all the data available.
You have accounts synced on your phone
If your mobile is used by another person such as a family member, they may have associated their Google account on your computer . This may be the reason why contacts appear from people you don’t know. In this case, check that the accounts synced with your device are only yours and delete the others.
Your Google account has been stolen
If you sold your phone and didn’t delete your Google account, the new owner may be using your account. Therefore, every time he adds a contact it will appear in your calendar. Something you can do is verify your contacts in the application or you can go to the activity of your Google account to know the computers that use your account and delete the one that you do not use.
The simplest explanation: Spam
As with text messages and calls, spam can occur on WhatsApp . That is, anyone can communicate with you without knowing you. This can be to promote a product or to scam you. If the sender of the messages you do not know, you can report it so that the application takes action on the matter.
How can I block a contact from my WhatsApp that I don’t have registered?
If you receive a message on WhatsApp from a person you don’t know, you can block it so that it cannot contact you again . You just have to open the chat of the unknown person and press the icon with the three vertical dots, then locate the block option and that way the person will not be able to send you messages or call you.
What can I do if, in addition to blocking someone, I want to permanently remove them?
If the messages from that unknown person caused you great annoyance or discomfort, you can block it so that it does not have any further communication with you. However, the application allows you to delete her contact so that you have no trace of her. You just have to look for the privacy of your account to access the blocked contacts, then select one and press the delete option.
Would the other person notice if I delete their contact from WhatsApp?
The answer is no , since the application does not have a system that notifies when one user deletes another. What if it can help the other person to know that you have deleted it, is that they can no longer see your profile picture, your statuses and your last connection. This happens when you have configured your account so that this information is seen only by your friends.
What if I want to delete Google contacts from WhatsApp?
If you are worried that this could have negative consequences, then you can stop worrying, because no one will know that you have deleted a contact. The only change you will see is that you will no longer have that person’s information on your friends list nor will you be able to communicate with them. So if someone bothers you, you can erase it and forget about that person forever.