How to clear Timeline activity history in Windows 10?

Windows 10 presents a novelty to access the activities that you have done in the last 30 days. This feature is called Timeline and can be managed according to your preferences. If you wonder   how to disable or delete the Timeline activity history in Windows 10? , then this article will be very useful for you.

How to disable or clear the Timeline activity history in Windows 10?

Timeline has been highly valued by Windows 10 users because it allows them to resume activities that they started previously. However, it displays all the actions that are carried out on the computer in such a way that the user’s privacy is made vulnerable.

It plays an important role, but just as it is possible to clear temporary files or Windows cache , similar actions can be taken with the operating system’s Timeline.

Next, we explain what Timeline consists of and how to deactivate this function in Microsoft Windows 10 to protect all the information of your actions on the computer.

What is the Windows 10 Timeline?

The Timeline or the «Timeline» is a feature of Windows 10 that was added to one of its updates in 2018, along with the clipboard history that you can also delete . This feature allows users to view all the activities that have been carried out in the system including the application history.

What is Timeline for?

Timeline is a function that serves to keep track of all the activities, applications, files and other actions that you carry out in Windows 10. It is an extended version of what is seen in other systems, that is, the classic recent files that are easily they can delete , although in this new function the process is different.

On the other hand, Timeline allows you to return to the jobs that you have already started previously. So you can take advantage of the timeline by resuming activities that you started a long time ago.

How does Timeline work?

Timeline works as a visualizer of all the tasks carried out on the computer. In this sense, the shortcut “Win + Tab” takes the Windows 10 user to a screen that allows them to view the websites, applications and files that are running on the computer.

In addition, Timeline has an option to synchronize activities in the cloud in order to access the tasks that you have carried out in the last 30 days. Windows 10 also has options so that you can disable or delete the history that has been stored in the timeline.

How to disable activity history in Windows 10 and enter the timeline?

To enter the timeline , you must go to an icon that is next to the search tool «Cortana». From this function, you will be able to locate and later manage all the actions that you have done in the operating system.

Procedure to delete an activity from the Timeline in Windows 10

If you want to delete an activity from the Timeline history, you must access this function by pressing the Win + Tab keys . Also, you can look for the “TaskView” icon found on the Windows taskbar.

Once you enter Timeline, you must select the activity you want to delete. To do this, right click on the entry in question. Then, you will see a confirmation dialog box and there you must click the “Yes” button.

Use the search tool

You can also search for a specific activity using the search box when you have many entries that make manual searching difficult. Therefore, you can quickly find the entry you are going to delete.

Procedure to deactivate the activity history of the Timeline

To deactivate the activity history of the Timeline you must go to the settings and locate the “Privacy” option There, you will find the “Activity History”. Then, to the right of the configuration window, you will see two options, of which you must deactivate “Allow Windows to collect my activities on this computer” .

By doing this, you will not allow the operating system to collect the activities you do on the computer. Therefore, the timeline or Timeline stops working and your privacy will be protected.

Note that you can also configure Windows 10 privacy more widely to further protect your integrity and data.

 

Leave a Comment