How to change the privacy of my videos on YouTube?

If you are a content creator or only upload videos to YouTube to store them, these tools are the ones to configure the privacy of your videos . There are times when we want to upload a video to the YouTube platform, however, we do not want it to be public yet or we only want those who share the link to see it.

For this reason, YouTube offers you an innovative tool so that you can change the privacy of your videos as and when you want.

Index( )

  1. What are the functions that can be configured with the privacy of the videos?
    1. Share the URL
    2. Add to a section of a channel
    3. Appears in searches
    4. It is published on your channel
    5. Appears in subscriber feed
    6. Comments can be posted on it
  2. What kind of privacy do videos posted on YouTube have?
    1. Public Videos
    2. Private Videos
    3. Unlisted Videos
  3. How do I set the privacy of my YouTube videos?
    1. On the mobile phone
    2. In the computer
  4. How can I share my non-private YouTube videos?

What are the functions that can be configured with the privacy of the videos?

The YouTube platform offers you a variety of different functions that you can apply to your videos when setting their privacy. However, these functions may vary depending on the type of privacy you set your videos to.

There are three different types of privacy, among them you can place your videos, whether they are public, private and unlisted , so below we will describe what functions you can apply in each of them:

Share the URL

If you want no one to share the URL of your video , the ideal type of privacy for your video is the “Private” type, with it you can only share your private video with those who receive the URL directly from you. On the other hand, unlisted or public videos can be shared via URL normally.

Add to a section of a channel

Like the previous function, the option to add a video to a channel section cannot be applied if your video is private . However, to the videos that their privacy is set to “Public” or “Not listed”, if you can apply this function to them.

Appears in searches

If you want your videos to be recommended, appear in searches or in the lists of related videos , you can go to the video privacy options and place them “Public”. However, if your video is private or unlisted, it will not appear in searches or in any of the aforementioned listings.

It is published on your channel

On the other hand, if you want to upload a video and have it published on your YouTube channel , the only option that this function offers is to place your public video. Videos that are private or not listed will not be published on your YouTube channel and you can only view it by logging into your account.

Appears in subscriber feed

If you want your videos to appear in your subscribers’ feed, it will only be possible if it has been configured as “Public”. If your video settings are set to “Private” or “Not Listed”, your subscribers will not be able to view it.

Comments can be posted on it

Finally, if you want those who see your videos to interact in the comments or simply leave one in it, you can place your videos in either “Public” or “Unlisted” mode. However, if your videos have been configured to remain private, in addition to the fact that your subscribers will not be able to view it, they will not be able to comment on it either.

What kind of privacy do videos posted on YouTube have?

When uploading a video to the YouTube platform, it allows the user to select the type of privacy they want their video to have. These types of privacy will allow or deny that some functions are applied to the video, such as those described above, these types are usually:

Public Videos

Public videos allow anyone who uses the YouTube platform to have access to it, they can see, comment and even share the video with their friends. When publishing a public video, it will appear both in the feed of your subscribers, as in lists of recommended or related videos and in searches.

Private Videos

If you want to keep your videos private, this setting is the right one, because, when using it, only you and the person you want can see the video on your channel. By placing your videos in private, they will not appear in any list, nor in searches or subscriber feed, in addition, no user will be able to add comments on it.

Unlisted Videos

The last privacy setting that you can apply to your videos on YouTube is “Not listed”, with it, only people who have the link to your video will be able to see and share it. However, with this setting, your videos will not appear in the “Videos” listing on your channel’s home page or in searches, unless someone else has added them to a public listing.

How do I set the privacy of my YouTube videos?

Changing or configuring the privacy of your YouTube videos is very simple and you can do it whenever you want and from any device, be it a mobile phone or from your computer or PC.

On the mobile phone

Changing the privacy settings of your videos from your cell phone either Android or iOS is very simple, for this you just have to follow these instructions:

  • To start, you must install the YouTube mobile application on your cell phoneand enter your account, then go to ” Library” and select the “My videos” option .
  • Find the video you want to change privacy for, select the More option, identified by three (3) dots and press the “Edit” option.
  • To conclude, enter the Privacy settings and select how you want your video to be published, public, private or not listed, and finally press “Save”, so that all changes are made successfully.

In the computer

If you want to change the privacy settings of your videos from your computer or PC, you just have to follow these steps that will only take a few minutes:

  • Enter the Studio YouTubeplatform and log in, followed by selecting the “Content” option located on the left side.
  • Find the video for which you want to configure its privacy and go to the “Visibility” section, finally select if you want it to be public, private or not listedand press “Save”, so the changes will be made.

How can I share my non-private YouTube videos?

Non-private videos, or better known as “Unlisted” or “Hidden” , are very easy to share, in addition, sharing the link of a hidden video means that anyone who has the link to your video will be able to view it. To share the link of your non-private video you just need to follow these steps that we will explain below:

  • Enter your YouTube Studio account, select the “Content” option and search among your videos for the one you want to share with your friends
  • Then select the menu represented by three (3) points, and press “Get link to share”, finally, you just have to send the link to whoever you want to see your video.

Anyone who obtains the link to your video will be able to view it, however, it will not appear in recommended or in searches on the platform.

Leave a Comment