How can I remove users or participants from Skype group chat?

If you are one of those who usually use Skype to keep in touch or even work, you are certainly interested in removing participants in group chat on some occasions or removing them from your contacts easily. Either because I change my number, it is no longer part of that activity or we simply do not want him to continue the conversation because you know if he is active on the call, doing this is necessary.

However, finding the respective option can be confusing for some users. If you too have faced this problem, here you will find not one, but two methods to do it.

Remove participants in group chat graphically

In other words, it is about finding the option visually in order to select it. This can be done in Skype of any operating system , although depending on the case it may vary slightly. Here is a step by step of each situation

First step: Access the application or program

First of all, you must make sure that the program is active and if not you must run it. In most cases, once Skype is open, it will remain active in the background until configured otherwise.

Second step: Login to your account

If you have not yet logged in, you must do so by entering your username and password. Otherwise you can skip this step and go to the next one.

Third step: Go to the “Chats” section

This is where the differences begin. If you are on a desktop device, the chat list will be immediately visible on the left side of the window.

On the contrary, if you are in the application of a smartphone you must access this section by pressing the “Chats” icon This is displayed as a speech bubble.

Step Four: Locate Group

After finding groups in Skype and with the list of chats, you must locate the one from which you want to remove participants in group chat and enter it. To get to this point you can also do it through a group notification, clicking on it or touching it.

Step Five: Verify Participant List

At the top, right where you see the name of the group chat, you can also see the number of participants. You must click on that information if you are on a PC. If you are acting from a mobile device, you must keep your finger pressing on the aforementioned information.

In both cases, a list with options and group chat members will be displayed . You’re one step away from removing group chat participants.

Step Six: Remove Participants

As a last step, now you only have to choose the participants you want to eliminate . If you are in Windows, for example, when you move the cursor over the name, the option “Remove” will appear, which you must click.

In the case of the application on mobile phones, this option is represented by an “X” next to the name, on which you must click. Ready, you have done your job, although there is another slightly faster method.

Remember that, in any case, you must be the group chat administrator or have the necessary permission to remove participants. Otherwise, you simply won’t be able to access this option.

Delete participants in group chat using command lines

This is another way in which you can remove a participant from the group chat without having to search for the option. It may seem slightly intimidating at first, but it’s really straightforward, you’ll see.

In this case, steps 1, 2, 3 and 4 are exactly the same as the previous section. From there, you must follow the following steps:

Step Five: Write Command Line

Go to the send message box as if you were going to do it. Here, you will type the command “/ kick” (without the quotes). Then you press the space key and then the ID of the user you want to eject. (Example: / Kick maria304.skype)

Step Six: Submit

Now you just have to press “Enter” and that’s it. If the username is correct it will be expelled from the chat as long as you have the permissions to do so. Remember that the ID can be verified in the profile of the contact in question.

 

Leave a Comment